UserPreferences

HelpOnPageDeletion


The following 106 words could not be found in the dictionary of 550 words (including 550 LocalSpellingWords) and are highlighted below:

action   Administration   allowed   almost   also   an   and   are   Asked   at   back   backup   but   by   Can   can   clicking   Configuration   Contents   copy   creation   data   default   Delete   delete   deleted   deleting   Deletion   dialog   directory   empty   enabled   enter   entry   Especially   existence   file   files   for   found   Frequently   from   get   Go   Help   history   host   How   if   If   in   inbetween   into   is   like   ll   make   means   mechanisms   Miscellaneous   name   not   Note   of   old   older   on   On   out   page   Page   pages   purged   Questions   restore   reveal   saving   see   shell   simply   standard   stuff   system   text   that   The   the   them   then   there   this   This   to   To   unless   using   usual   version   via   was   way   What   which   will   with   you  

Clear message

HelpContents > HelpOnAdministration > HelpOnPageDeletion

How to delete pages

The default way to delete a page is via the shell on the host system. The page files are found in the "data/text" directory, and you can simply delete them from there.

If enabled (see HelpOnConfiguration and HelpMiscellaneous/FrequentlyAskedQuestions), you can delete pages with the DeletePage action. Note that deleting means to make a backup copy of the page, and then deleting the page file. This is almost like saving an empty page (which is not allowed by the system).

What this means is that you can get back at deleted pages by using the standard mechanisms, see also the HelpMiscellaneous/FrequentlyAskedQuestions entry "Can I restore a page from an older version?" for this. Especially, if you enter the page name into the GoTo dialog, you'll see the usual page creation stuff, but clicking on PageInfo will reveal the old version history, unless the page was purged out of existence inbetween.